Queer Youth Leadership Awards set for Saturday

Tickets for Saturday’s award ceremony are available at QYLA.org. The event will include a resource fair, dinner and awards.

Ticket purchase will help support the QYLA award scholarship program, programs of the Queer Youth Task Force and provide tickets for those who could not otherwise attend.

Queer Youth Leadership Award awardees

Andi Mellon, student, Cypress Charter High School.
Giselle Guerrero, student, Pajaro Valley High School.
Red Jacob, student, YES School.
Zoey Tiller, volunteer, Santa Cruz AIDS Project and student, Pacific Collegiate School.

Queer Youth Leadership Award nominees

Chloë Rae Adolfo, student, Soquel High School.
Cody Bucher, student, Soquel High School.
Jeydon Cordero, alumni and crew member, Food What?! and student, Delta Charter High School.
Justice Landes, student, San Lorenzo Valley High School.
Oliver Cantrell, student, Harbor High School.

Ally to Queer Youth Award awardee

Jen Salinas-Holz, adviser, Alianza Charter School QSA, Watsonville Charter School of the Arts (WCSA) GSA, WCSA GSA Junior, & Lakeview Middle School QSA

Ally to Queer Youth Award nominees

Julian Nixon-Gant, student, Watsonville Charter School of the Arts.
Lani Egbert, teacher, Boulder Creek Elementary School.
Lesley-Reid Harrison, manager, Triangle Speakers, a program of The Diversity Center Santa Cruz County.
Rosa G. Hernández, principal, Lakeview Middle School.
Ryane Ortiz, teacher, Aptos High School.

Organizational Ally to Queer Youth Award, Awardee

Pajaro Valley Pride.

Organizational Ally to Queer Youth Award, Nominees

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Santa Cruz County.
Cabrillo College Office of Student Equity.

Full article HERE